h1

The choice is obvious

August 22, 2010

Last night, I was going through the case in my purse that holds all my beetus gear. Lo and behold, I found my glucagon kit eight months expired. Uh, oops…I’ll get on that at my next endo visit.

Since I’ve thankfully never had to use one of these, an expired kit meant I finally get to see what’s inside! I cleared off a space on my desk and got to work.

First, I popped open the vial of glucagon powder. It was a little harder to open than an insulin vial but it made that same satisfying snap.

Next, I removed the needle from the case and uncapped it…only to be greeted by this thing:

WTF. For crying out loud, why is the needle so damn big?!

After figuring out how the kit worked and marveling at the crazy bubbles coming back into the syringe, I posted my shock of the needle on Facebook and Twitter. Mike called it a harpoon, and he isn’t too far off the mark. I wouldn’t want someone coming at me with that, so I’m glad I’m [supposed to be] unconscious when this is used on me.

I had a completely different response on Facebook, and one of the comments made by a friend got to me: “I don’t know how you could do that!” It irks me, as it’s along the lines of “I could NEVER inject myself multiple times a day!” Well, let me ask…

If you were given a choice between daily insulin injections or death, which would you pick?

I know it’s a little extreme to put it that way, but not taking your daily injections/medication can and will lead to your untimely demise. It’s not easy having to prick my fingers multiple times a day and be hooked up to various pieces of technology that monitor my blood sugar and control my insulin. It’s not sexy, it’s not convenient, and it’s definitely not something I prefer. But do I have a choice? Sure I do, but the choice is pretty obvious to me: test, treat, inject/pump, make sure everything is on track. Rinse, lather, repeat. It’s become so much a part of my life that I don’t even think twice about doing it. I just do what is needed in order to not just live, but to live a healthy, and hopefully long, life.

5 comments

  1. What I learned from the people with diabetes who were in my life before my diagnosis was, I could either live with it, with the inconveniences of testing, complete change of diet (I’m Type 2), and medications, or I could die from it with all the pain and suffering and killing-me-piece-by-piece (again, I’m Type 2) that entailed. When faced with those options, the choice is obvious.


  2. Oh my gosh, that is a huge needle!!! Fingers crossed we never ever learn what it feels like.

    Yeah, the “I could never do that” statement gets to me too. It just seems very insensitive – like we have a choice in the matter . . .


  3. I totally agree with you here. I loathe the statement, “I could never do that.”


  4. VERY well said!!! :) & sadly very true on how the rest of the world thinks about it and comments.


  5. The huge needle is that long so other people can inject it whitout removing your trousers. In case of emergency you can inject it trough the pants…

    Sorry for my poor English, I am not a native speaker. I’m from The Netherlands, Europe. Male, type 1 since 1986, Medtronic Paradigm Veo.



Leave a Reply

