h1

Bolus worthy

July 21, 2010

Last night, I went to dinner at Jose Garces’ fairly new restaurant in Center City Philadelphia called Garces Trading Company. If you guys keep up with food news, you’ll know that he’s Iron Chef. We ate here a few weeks after it first opened, and the food is delightful, though a tad expensive. We also had the pleasure of meeting Chef Garces and getting a photo with him! SUPER nice guy, btw.

One of the things I remember the most was their macarons…but it wasn’t for a good reason. The white chocolate mint one tasted like toothpaste (and had nearly the same consistency), while the salted caramel macaron was unbelievably sweet.

Last night, however, I decided to give it another go, plus they had new flavors. I’m pretty sure they have new flavors every few days, if not every day, and white chocolate pistachio and caramel buttercream macarons sounded very appealing to me (though not my  blood sugar…but I shut that one up with an extra bolus, heh).

Flavors were SPOT ON. It wasn’t overwhelmingly sweet and each bite we took was heavenly. Chris and I ended up buying a dozen.

Totally bolus worthy.

One comment

  1. Nice photo, well done. I agree, totally bolus worthy.



Leave a Reply

