h1

OmniPod vs. Animas Ping

September 10, 2009

Last night, I cheated on my OmniPod. I met with an Animas rep to check out the One Touch Ping.

Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love my OmniPod. I love that it’s wireless, discreet, and that I don’t get tangled up in it while I’m sleeping. I also love that it’s a great conversation starter (and many times an opportunity to educate).

But I HATE losing insulin when a pod errors out or occludes. And frankly, it’s happened way too many times in the past month. When Chris and I were in California, the pod errored out while priming. During my equipment fail, the pod’s cannula was bent and no occlusion alarm went off, even though it was leaking insulin and not delivering my basal properly. Both times, I had 200 units of insulin in there. Ouch. I know Insulet will not hesitate to replace a pod, but who will replace the lost insulin???

What made me [initially] shy away from a traditional pump was the tubing. I didn’t like the idea of accidentally ripping out an infusion set, but as my perceptive husband pointed out, “at least you don’t lose insulin when you rip out an infusion set.” Touche, hubby, touche. ;)

I also compared prices on the two systems:

OmniPod
PDM: $1750
Box of 10 pods: $450

Animas Ping
Pump and meter: $6000
Box of 10 infusion sets: $135
Box of 10 insulin cartridges: $36.50

The start-up cost of the OmniPod is definitely way cheaper, but over time, the Ping will be cheaper. On supplies alone, my 10% portion would go from $45 to $17.15 per month! Over four years, I would save about $1300.

But I don’t know…I’m still VERY iffy about the tubing (mainly because I toss around like a madwoman in my sleep). Nonetheless, I filled out the form and gave it to the Animas rep. They still need to run it by my insurance and give me my final out-of-pocket numbers.

Ahhh, decisions, decisions!

2 comments

  1. Hey, I just found your blog through Kerri’s blog (sixuntilme). I saw that you are on the Omnipod and Dexcom as I am too. :) You know you can get most of your insulin out of the pod before you discard it? I’ve done it a million times because I, like you, have had some pods that don’t work. You just use the needle that you used to insert the insulin and pull it back out. I usally can’t get all of it, but I can get most of it and I always resuse it in the new pod with no problems. Just wanted to let you know.


  2. […] year, I wrote about my experiences with wanting to switch to the Animas Ping, due to the amount of insulin I lost if a pod malfunctioned. I think I fell off the blogging […]



Leave a Reply

