h1

Those Bad Habits

September 8, 2009

Inspired by Kerri‘s blog and other diabetes blogs, here are some bad diabetes habits I have…

  1. Overcorrecting a low. This gets me every time. Pre-CGM, I’d wake up in the middle of the night in the 30s. Freaking out that I’d pass out, I would drink three pouches of Capri Sun, eat two bags of fruit snacks (20 grams of carbs per bag), and eat a few crackers for good measure. I inhaled all that in less than 10 minutes. I’d wait the 15 minutes and test, and my bg would be in the high 80s, which is WAY too fast a rise in 15 minutes. Of course, an hour later, I’d be in the high 200s. It’s getting better now that I have Dex.
  2. Injecting in the same spot all the time. This explains my bump. Now, with my OmniPod, I keep using my arms. I notice they’re a bit chapped from the adhesive, but they’re my best spots!
  3. Bolusing extra for those sweet treats. My pediatric endocrinologist introduced this to me when I was in middle school. I totally abuse it. I need to stop!
  4. Skipping breakfast. I can’t help it; it makes me sleepy when I have something in my stomach. But it also makes my bg crash at 10am, thus making me somewhat high for lunch at noon.
  5. LOGGING! Or rather, lack thereof. Until Kerri introduced the Kevin spreadsheet to me, I kept starting and ending paper logs. Cute notebooks be damned, I couldn’t keep up. One night, I was doing my DexCom paperwork and realized they wanted 30 days of logs. Well sh*t! I realized I hadn’t logged in over a month. Yeah…that was a long night. I finally figured out that electronic logging is up my alley. So far, so good!
  6. Doing a crazy bolus if I’m crazy high. I’d rather correct a low than be sluggish from a high (overcorrecting that low aside). The other day, my bg just would not go down. I was in the 200s the entire night and morning, with no explanation. Finally, I got sick of it and injected 25 units. It worked at the time, but sometimes I crash an hour later. Sheesh.

I need to make myself feel better…Guitar Hero, here I come!

Leave a Reply

