h1

New Month, New Blog

September 1, 2009

I’ve decided that rather than bombarding my tumblr with posts about diabetes that I should consolidate them into one diabetes blog. I want to be able to read back on these entries and not have to sift through other entries.

So Sugarbump at WordPress is born! And to kick it off, here is my post from last night about being a beat up diabetes robot:

My spreadsheet tells me I’ve been testing around 15 times a day (yes folks, that’s almost four times more than recommended). My right ring finger and left pinky are particularly beat up– I’ll try to get a shot of that and post it here.

I don’t mind though. Sore fingers are a small price to pay for the peace of mind of knowing where the heck my blood sugar is wandering (a la Big Brother). With the finger pricks and my brand spankin’ new DexCom system, along with the Kevin spreadsheet, for once in my life I feel like I’m adequately armed for this battle…or at least my next endo appointment in a couple of weeks. Diabetes is an annoying friend I’ve come to love. Sorta. Of course, there are times I want to kick it in its face, especially when it’s rearing its ugly head and I can’t get it to calm the eff down, but most of the time it’s manageable and, dare I say, even entertaining. My pod is a good ice breaker topic, that’s for sure.

I can’t even begin to describe how I feel about the DexCom. I’ve only had it for three days, and I can’t imagine what I did without it (kinda like my iPhone). Not only am I constantly checking it, Chris is as well! I’ll be sitting/standing there randomly, and all of a sudden, I’ll feel a little pressure on my side. And there’s my husband, eyes lit up like it’s Christmas morning, pressing buttons, eager to see how I’m currently doing and what the trends are. He’s the only person who can get away with pushing buttons on my diabetes gear, so don’t get any ideas, people. ;)

He’s also expressed how glad he is that I have this thing– he’s still in CA until tomorrow, with no way of knowing when I go low, and more importantly, how low I go. Take this afternoon for example: since I was dead tired from my red-eye flight, I took a nap after work. About two hours into it, the receiver started beeping. My bg was 42 and falling. I did not feel a thing. A finger stick confirmed it with 46. This thing knows me better than I know myself.

Dex says I’m 100 and steady. I’m going to reward myself by sleeping. :)

One comment

  1. Faye! I’m glad you’re all over the internet, now with a diabetes blogging hub. :)

    Enjoy the Kevin spreadsheet. I believe it may be saving my A1C, one spreadsheet cell at a time.



Leave a Reply

