h1

Getting used to Bumposaurus

September 9, 2010

I was brushing my teeth earlier, formulating my next blog post in my head, thinking about how awesome the Ping is and how being tubed hasn’t bothered me one bit.

Then I went to pee (sorry, TMI) and nearly yanked out my new site. Yikes!

Okay, so maybe there are a few things I still need to get used to. Usually my pump is tucked away in between my girls, and I never pull it out during the day to bolus (thank you, handy dandy meter remote). At night though, when I’m wearing my pajamas, the pump is clipped to my shorts. And sometimes I don’t remember it’s there.

Aside from the random yanking of tubing, I’m thankfully short enough that doorknobs don’t notice the tubing. (Side note: I had a site change today and I ripped off the old site, just to see how it would feel. Ouch.)

So far, so good. My bg’s have been completely awesome lately, ranging from 69 to 156. I’m trying out the angled and straight sets to see which one I like best, and also which ones work on different parts of my body. I learned the hard way that a site change requires multiple packages…I’ve been spoiled with the all-in-one packaging of the OmniPod and never had to worry about making sure I had infusion sets, tubing, and oh yeah, CARTRIDGES. I’m learning how to use the ezManager software and how amusing it is to hear La Cucaracha for my alerts.

We’ll see where this journey goes, but so far I’m loving the ride. :)

4 comments

  1. Yay!!!! :) Exciting to have Justice take his journey with u, keep us posted. Also try the tummietote!


  2. I’m glad the ping is working out for you. Last night I was talking to my hubby about “what if there wasn’t an Omnipod” lol I told him I would have the ping and keep it between my girls hahaha funny.


    • It really is a great combination of the OmniPod features and a traditional tubed pump. I can keep it discreet and bolus from my meter, but if something goes wrong, I can disconnect, troubleshoot, and figure out which part I need to change rather than having to replace the entire pod.


  3. Love the green. :)



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

